First Day On The “Job”


Yesterday was my first day working in the salon.  And I have to say that it was really an awesome day. I think I fit in well with the other stylists, and the owner loves my eagerness to soak in everything she’s dishing out.

And boy was there a lot to soak in yesterday:

  • Rule #1 of Hair: DO NOT HARM THE HAIR
  • My in-salon training will consist of, and in this order: Sanitation, Shampooing & Conditioning, Relaxing, Color and last, my favorite, Cutting. The owner says that she’d like to have me to begin working on my own within the next 6 months. (HUH?!?!?!)
  • I need 3000 hours in the salon, in addition to my coursework at the Richmond Technical Center, in order to get my hair license. I worked 10 hours yesterday. So, I now have 2,990 hours to go.
  • The owner used to be a platform artist for Paul Mitchell. She continues to amaze me.
  • Only in a black salon do you “manipulate” the scalp. LOL. (Some of you may get it, some of you may not.)
  • The salon caters to a plethora of people, which I’m glad about. So, I’m learning about all types of hair types and textures – Black hair, Caucasian hair, Natural hair, Asian hair.
  • I’m going to work on tightening up the inventory system they currently have at the salon.
  • I asked the owner if we recycled the product bottles, and she laughed. I’ve been given the assignment to implement a recycling program, if I’d like.
  • The owner is looking to expand her business to two more locations by August. That’s pretty aggressive, but I’m SO excited about the possibilities. She also wants to develop a product line. How cool is that?
  • I’m still new to this, but my gut tells me I’m not going to be a stylist. Owner is enough for me…I think…
  • I shampooed one Client yesterday, and she said I seemed nervous.  Shoot, I was. LOL.
  • To me, the other stylists dress pretty hip and trendy. I’m still too corporate and conservative. I’m hoping to loosen up and let the diva out of the bag. I may try wearing one of my wigs to work one day. I never did at the agency because I was too self-conscious.
  • I shall wear comfortable shoes to work!!! The new shoes I bought (though flats) did my poor feet a disservice. Trying to be cute, but by the end of the day, my dogs were BARKING! One stylist says it takes about a week or so for your feet and legs to get used to a new floor. *sigh*

Even with all of that, I’m happy to say that I left the salon and headed straight to the library to update the Industry Analysis section of my business plan. Thank goodness the library is right down the street. I’m going to attempt to do that every Tuesday after work since that’s our least busiest day.

And to top off my long, but great day, I came home to find the very email I was hoping to get. One of my mentors agreed to meet with me this weekend to discuss my survey for gathering consumer data. I’m ecstatic!!  She’s the bomb when it comes to research!

Little by little… 🙂

4 Responses to “First Day On The “Job””

  1. Donnell Says:

    Good stuff, I find that I am more focused when I dive into stuff to, because now you have your hands in it, so it will motivate you to go foward

  2. Aunt Gloria Says:

    Daviece
    You’re off and getting the next thing done. That is excellent. You are doing great and we’ll thanking God that each day you are moving closer and closer of owning your shop. Be encouraged. All who will come in contact with you will be blessed by being in your presence. Always know that your very appearence is sending a message. We love you.
    Uncle George and Aunt Gloria

  3. shopahol Says:

    hooray!!!

    kudos on the recyling initiative. i had to do the same in my office and still end up digging water bottles out of the trash O_O

    oh well, every little bit, right?

    – mary

  4. Jonnie Says:

    Wow! I’m so excited for you…I can’t wait to come get my hair done at your salon! Pay close attention to the blow out!! 🙂

    J

Leave a Reply

