Write Down Your BIG Dreams!

While I was working in the ad industry, I can’t tell you how many different positions I wanted to be or try at one time or another. I wanted at one time to be a CEO, then it was an Account Manager of a worldwide account, next a diversity consultant, a project manager and the last thing I remember was to help the industry go green.  Oh yeah, I even thought about going over to the Client side!

All that to say, my aspirations continuously changed during the past 5 years.

But whatever my goals or dreams, I’ve learned the importance of writing them out, no not in your mind, but on paper. You can always revise your written plans again. Plus, what matters most is that you create a vision for yourself that will help you live deliberately and purposefully. 

I believe that all people work best when they are working with a purpose. Jack Canfield, in his book, “The Success Principles,” says that the brain is a goal-seeking organism. And I believe it.  For me, when I write my goals and dreams down, I am more focused, more energetic and more motivated.  And as new ideas come and my dreams change along the way, I adapt and just re-adjust my written plan. 

Last year, I put together a structure that includes, what I’m sure my friends and family would think, but not dare say, some of my lofty ideas.  And I’d like to share it with you so that you can think about creating one of your own.   Because I’m a visual person, I’ve outlined in this chart my dreams in a way where I see how the ideas link and ultimately build off of the other. 

If it’s not over this weekend, I hope it’s soon that you take the time to outline ON PAPER some of the goals and dreams you have for yourself too. And I dare you to MAKE THEM BIG. 

Why? 

Why not.

Oh, and I’d like to challenge you to write a mission statement for yourself also. That helps me to be focused.  And I’m sure it’d help you do the same. 🙂

I’ll be checking in next week to see if anyone has written any of their dreams/plans down on paper!!

Shoot me an email if you have any questions or if you need any help.

Leave a Reply

