I’ve been A LOT distracted

Thank goodness for my church and for my pastor.  Cause I’m back on track.

So I went to church Saturday night, and Pastor Watson was speaking directly to me!  He talked about the benefits of walking in your God-given purpose. The benefits of living with purpose, he stated, will:

  • Reduce frustration
  • Increase motivation
  • Enhance concentration
  • Attract cooperation (from others)
  • Secure your evaluation (on the day when God asks you to give an account of your life on Earth)

The sermon, entitled, “Driven by Design,” definitely got me to thinking about how distracted I’ve been lately.  I haven’t updated my blog in over a week, and the only thing I’ve done for my business is a little competitive research, which is not enough if I plan on completing my business plan by mid February.

One of the things my pastor pointed out was that you have power when you focus. And that’s the reason why the enemy always uses distraction and diversion to break your focus and your concentration.  And he’s definitely right.

I know that when I’m focused and on course, nothing can stop me.  But once I take my eyes off my vision, that’s when I start to slow my momentum. And while this holiday time with my family was wonderful, and I could take my time enjoying them because I didn’t have to rush back to be at anyone’s job, I now need to refocus my energies on my purpose.

And one thing my pastor continues to say, and he actually said it again on Saturday, is that we must complete what we’ve started. I couldn’t agree more.

So that I don’t totally go to another extreme of trying to do it all from doing nothing, today I’m going to work on putting together a schedule for the development and completion of my business plan, and I’m going to work on putting in writing my salon’s mission statement.

In the words of Dr. Seuss, “Today if your day! Your mountain is waiting. So…get on your way!”

That’s right Dr. Seuss, I’m on it.

Leave a Reply

