I can do this.

Before I left Richmond for home to be with family during the holidays, I met with an old mentor of mine who coached me when I worked in NY in a 2 year advertising management training program.   She’s originally from Richmond, so the opportunity perfectly presented itself for us to get together and catch up before my arrival to NY.

I had shared with her a little over a month ago my concept for a hair salon, and though she thought it had a few kinks, overall, she thought it was a pretty good idea.

We talked more about it this past Tuesday, and she gave me what I think is some pretty good advice. She suggested that I give myself 2 years to pursue this endeavor and to give it all I’ve got.  That way, I won’t lose too much time and if needed, I could always transision back into Corporate America.

She also thinks that because the market is pretty aggressive when it comes to hair salons that I need to be as well.  She told me that I needed to get working and to move QUICKLY in terms of putting together my business plan. 

And, she’s right.

My plan, when I get back to VA, is to get started on my business plan the first on January and have it completed no later than mid-February. I’ve had enough time to rest. Now I need to get working, which is also the scariest part.

I have a million thoughts running through my head all the time like “How can I accomplish this?”, “Who do I think I am to be able to do this?”, “Others have tried and have been unsuccessful, what makes you think you’re special?”

But I also stand firm to the competiting thoughts, “Why not me?” and “If not me, then who?”

What comes to mind as I’m writing this entry is one of my favorite poems that I had posted on my desk when I was working. 

It’s called “Our Deepest Fear” by Marianne Williamson:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

This little light on mine.  I’ve GOT to let it shine.

Leave a Reply

