I’m going to love hair school.

I interviewed with Paul Mitchell The School and Aveda Institute in the DC area yesterday.
 
Of course, I had no idea what to wear, so I opted for mostly black. Good choice. The dress code for both schools is, yep, all black.
 
Both schools’ cosmetology program is an 11-month program that consists of shampooing/conditioning, hairstyling, haircutting, permanent waving/chemical relaxing, haircoloring, skin care and make up and nail care.  All of these skills are necessary to know in order to pass the state cosmetology exams and obtain a hair license in DC, VA and MD. Though some states require a different number of hours, they require 1500 hours.
 
While touring both facilities, I noticed Paul Mitchell (PM) tends to be more high-end fashion geared, while Aveda’s emphasis is on a person’s overall well being.  The atmosphere at Paul Mitchell was high energy and youth spirited, while Aveda, on the other hand, felt more peaceful.  I think both schools nurture individual creativity, just in different ways.
 
If I had to make a final decision based on yesterday, I’d definitely choose Aveda. More than providing the best hair style or hair cut, I want to offer my customers a unique experience.  Aveda just felt like it could help me do that, and it was definitely a better fit for my personality.  I also love the fact that their culture and products benefit both customers and the environment.
 
The thing I do know is that I DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT, want to live in the DC area. Been there, done that. I want to try something new.
 
Which reminds me, at Aveda, the admissions counselor did mention that they have schools in Europe. Not sure if that’s a realistic option for me, but I’m definitely going to do some more investigating to find out. I’d love to live abroad for year, yes indeedy!
 
The next session for both schools starts Jan 6th.  But I’m going to wait to attend a little later. Ideally, I’d love to begin school in February/March because I’m planning to have my business plan complete and ready to go before I step in any hair school – in America or abroad.
 
3 Responses to “I’m going to love hair school.”

  1. Timothy Says:

    I found your website via AlphaInventions. You’re beginning a very inspirational journey. You’ve got courage lady! Keep writing and chronicling your travels in your new profession.

    Don’t be just another brick in the wall!

    I’ll be checking in on your progress.

  2. retardspike Says:

    ohh my,,,its been a week i left my well paying hi flying job to ‘persue other interests’–it was harder than i thought–but yea,,leaped retardedly into the unknown, know its gonna be a bumpy ride ahead,,but enjoying it in a weird way hehehe…;)..

  3. Simone Says:

    Hey girl,

    Love the blog. Keep up the good work. You will persevere! Cant wait to get my hair did at you salon!

Leave a Reply

