A Happy Thanksgiving

Well, Ariane and I arrived in Newport, RI around 3:30 yesterday evening, and all of the reservations I had about making the trip very quickly faded away.
 
The small town, from our glimpse upon arrival, is everything I imagined Rhode Island to be like. Very New England-like, colonial. I was glad to see that we’d be surrounded by calming waters. As we crossed the Jamestown Verrazzano Bridge en route to Newport, the water, the homes and the idea of being in a such a beautiful city for the holiday weekend all came over me.
 
No more stress about what I need to do to get my business started, how I’m going to finance it, the people I’ll need to find to operate it, none of that seemed to matter.
 
We were here to relax and to take it all in.
 
Due to my budget restraints, we decided to stay at The Best Western. Definitely not the best, but it could’ve been worse. Though they don’t offer concierge service, they did provide us with a list of restaurants that would be open for Thanksgiving.
 
After calling a number of places, we settled on going to Clark Cooke.  And couldn’t have been happier.
 
They offered a 3-course pre-fixed Thanksgiving dinner which we really enjoyed.
 
We had soup for starters (Newport Clam Chowder & Butternut Squash Bisque), our entree (Roast Fresh Turkey with all the trimmings, traditional stuffing, which was the best stuffing I’ve ever had, mashed potatoes, which were SOOO good, cranberry chutney, which I could have definitely done without, and a butternut squash puree), then followed by dessert (Pumpkin pie and Creme Brulee). Accompanied of course by a fabulous glass of red wine.
 
All of that, with a table by the water.
 
I’d say A- for ambience, food and service.
 
Oh, I wish life were like this all the time…
 
Needless to say, I was very happy and thankful on Thanksgiving day.
 
I thanked God for my family and friends, the courage to take a leap of faith and embark on this new journey to entrepreurship and for the opportunity to have a beautiful and wonderful trip.
 
I am truly blessed.
Leave a Reply

